top of page

The Best Weekend Reads!


All photos are linked to mentioned book links

I had a pretty successful weekend of reading. I finished up Whatever Happens by Micalea Smeltzer and Drummer Girl by Ginger Scott, but that wasn't good enough. I then binged Lake Redstone by

J.D. Hollyfield. Let me tell you, these were all FANTASTIC reads and I highly recommend them to everyone looking for a good read! I believe all three books will find their way in my top reads of 2019!


Whatever Happens was my first read from author Micalea Smeltzer, but not even close to my last if all of her stories are like this one!


Heartbreakingly, beautiful in all of the right ways. Whatever Happens not only brings you through a beautiful journey, it brings awareness to the difficulties of life and how we perceive and handle them.

So, I never ever highlight quotes in books. I just don't. I read pretty fast and I never want to take a second to pause and highlight quotes. But with Whatever Happens, I HAD to highlight a couple of quotes. There were a few pieces that made me stop and really think about life and humans and how sucky they/we can be when we don't understand something.

This book deals with a lot of heavy topics, but it's done in a way that does more than just tell a story, it brings awareness.

The characters in this book tell a tale of how personal change can be good, how tragedy happens, but we can survive, and how just because someone is a little different, it doesn't make them any less than anyone else.

I was near tears, I laughed, and I swooned hard! A must read!



Ginger Scott never fails to bring a fantastic story to her readers! I have been ready for Drummer Girl since I saw the cover, which is beyond gorgeous!


Drummer Girl is a mature YA that takes readers through the life of two teenagers with all of the talent, whirlwind thoughts, and intense feelings. Being a teenager is hard enough, but sometimes the cards dealt make it even harder.


Told from the heroine, Arizona's POV, we are intensely brought straight into the feelings of so many of the characters. Scott does a phenomenal job of connecting readers to her characters. You get attached and feel for them on every level.


What can I say about this story that won't spoil any part? Not much, I don't want to give the least little bit away because I think it's better to witness firsthand.


I will say, I think this is one of Scott's best work. Intense and thought provoking. Also sure to make you swoon and root for the underdogs.


Drummer Girl releases July 30, 2019


I ended the weekend by binging, Lake Redstone by JD Hollyfield. I have been reading every release Hollyfield has had since I met her at an Ohio signing a few years ago and she has yet to disappoint me. Lake Redstone was no different. It may even be one of my favorites.


Firstly, nothing makes me love a book more than relatable characters and Hollyfield can write them! I loved the heroine, Casey. I felt her on a spiritual level, especially her slightly violent side. Haha! She might just be my spirit animal. Ha! And then Jim, you just can't help, but to love him. Not to mention the side characters. When you fall in love with like, eight people all in one book, you know the characters are amazing.


Lake Redstone is the ultimate test of friendship and self-contentment through one hell of a weekend retreat. This book was hilarious and swoony. There were moments where I laughed so hard, I almost had tears. And the swoon was sweet enough to buckle the knees of the strongest woman.


Must read romcom of 2019!



I know it's unlikely I will have such a successful weekend of reading like this one anytime soon, however it won't stop me from trying! What's your must reads of 2019?


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page